Extragalactic Continuum

This working group is focused on the study of continuum emission from galaxies, AGN and galaxy clusters over Cosmic time, including the evolution of the cosmic star-formation rate out to the epoch of reionization.

Extragalactic Continuum Working Group Introduction

Continuum science with the SKA explores our Universe from the nearest star-forming galaxies to high-redshift clusters of galaxies, examining structure formation and evolution on all scales.

SWG Banner - Continuum

Working Group Membership

Members of the the Extragalactic Continuum Working group can be found here

We actively encourage interested researchers to participate in the working group.

Please contact the co-chairs if you are interested in joining the group, with a brief description of your area of research.

The current co-chairs are:

Guidelines on who can join the group can be found here

The SKAO Project Scientist liaison is Wendy Williams. 

Extragalactic Continuum Working Group Documentation

The presentations from the Science Assessment Workshop can be found here.

The Extragalactic Continuum presentations from the 2014 SKA Science Meeting can be found here.

The Extragalactic Continuum banner is here.

Related 2015 “Advancing Astrophysics with the Square Kilometre Array” Chapters

  • See appropriate section here

Related 2004 “Science with the Square Kilometre Array” Chapters

  • “Galaxy evolution, cosmology and dark energy with the Square Kilometre Array” Rawlings et al.
  • “Relativistic jets” Bicknell et al.
  • “Compact radio cores: from the firstblack holes to the last” Falcke et al.
  • “Deep radio continuum studies with the SKA: evolution of radio AGN populations” Jackson
  • “Disks, tori and cocoons: emission and absoprtion diagnostics of AGN environments” Morganti et al.
  • “Surveys of compact extragalactic radio sources” Gurvits
  • “Predictions for the SKA from hierachical galaxy formation models” Baugh et al.
  • “Searching for high redshift centimeter wave continuum, line and maser emission using the Square Kilometre array” Blain et al.

Previous Chairs

  • Rossella Cassano (2015-2018)
  • Minh Huynh (2015-2017)
  • Isabella Prandoni (2013-2015)
  • Nicholas Seymour (2013-2015)
Last modified on 26 October 2023